cleaning up the wreckage with none of the answers

IMG_4050

I arrived in Oklahoma City in mid July, with a backpack and two checked bags—one with clothes and shampoo and the other with oddly shaped expectations and emotions too heavy for my carry-on.

I didn’t know what I was walking into, and that made me nervous. I’d be co-leading two disaster relief teams that would be working on houses and farms ravaged by the F5 tornado that passed through central Oklahoma in late May, and I didn’t know the first thing about tornado drills or drywall. Maybe I could find that on Google. But could Google tell someone what to say when meeting a community of people in the heart of devastation, grieving the loss of their friends, their children, their livelihood, their city?

I was guessing not.

Words are a comfortable place for me. I like being able to give information. I like being able to say the right thing. So often healing comes in words. But what about when you have no solutions to offer? What happens then?

(This post has been featured on Venture Magazine! Click here to continue reading.)

Leave a Reply

